Do you know you can delete your gmail email account permanently? Maybe you’ve been looking for a way to delete it. Are you just tired of allowing an account to exist while you don’t use it? If you fall under any of these categories or related categories of persons, you are in the right place.
Think about this, do you really know what you want to do? You want to delete your Google account. It means permanently removing your Gmail account and losing all the important information in it. If you are sure you want to delete it, let’s go on.
Before then, I would like you to know just few things
What will happen to my account once I delete my account my account.
- It will be deleted automatically. That is, you won’t have access to it again and you or any other person cannot create any other account using the same email address.
- Your Google services will be lost. You won’t have access to some of the products and services you enjoy from Google. It doesn’t mean you can no longer access Google services, but all your purchased services will be lost.
- You can’t login to any platform using that Gmail account.
- If you used the gmail email account as a recovery email for your bank account, you may have difficulty resetting your bank password once you delete the account.
What do I do before deleting my Google account?
If you don’t want to lose your important files or documents, here’s the good news, you can delete it without losing your credentials or files saved in your Gmail email account. But you must take necessary actions so you don’t delete your important files. The only thing to do is to backup those files. The only way to do that is to download those files from your Google account.
Review and download your important documents.
How to export files from files from Gmail account to device
- Firstly, login to your google account.
- Move to account > Data & Personalization
- Scroll down, you will see “Download, delete, or make a plan for your data”.
- Select “download your data” option which will help you make a copy of your data.
- Once you click on the option, you will see a list of all Google services (Google Takeout). Select the once you want to export.
- Scroll down after selecting your preferred data and click “Next step”.
- Click the tiny arrow under delivery method. This will enable you select how you want your data to be exported. Select your delivery method there.
- Also choose the file type you want, either as zip or tgz.
- Select your file type and size and click “Create Export”.
Google will begin to create your export and will notify you through gmail email account once the export is ready. It takes few seconds or minutes for Google to create the export.
You can cancel export by tapping the “Cancel export” button on the page.
- Finally, go to your Gmail inbox, click on the email Google sent to you and download your files from there.
By taking these few steps above, you can now go on to delete your account.
How to permanently delete your Google account
Let’s now get in to the main business proper.
Just like the first step you took while exporting your files, go to your account.
- Select “Data & Personalization”.
- Under “Download, delete or make a plan for your data” section, Select “delete a service or your account”.
- Select “Delete your account”.
- Google would like to verify whether or not it’s you. they want to ensure you are actually the one deleting the account
Provide your account password and click “next”.
It will take you to the where you will delete your account. Check the two boxes by the left to agree to terms and conditions of deleting your Google account.
Finally, tap “DELETE ACCOUNT”.
Note, it may take few days to delete the account.
Within the period you wait for Google to delete your gmail account, you still have time to consider why you should not delete the account. I mean you can still retrieve it. But if you allow it, then you won’t have access to it again.
That’s all on how to delete my Gmail account. Do well to reach us in case you have any question or contribution.